George Nilson, President of the Board of Trustees of the Chesapeake Film Festival, announced that “it is clear that we more than doubled last year’s ticket revenues and attendance. Four days and 48 films in three cities and five venues—that growth and the buzz during the festival has inspired us to double our effort to bring exciting film experience to the shore through the winter and spring, leading up to next year’s festival. We will not go into hibernation. We are profoundly grateful to our sponsors, advertisers, institutional partners and the thousands of film fans who attended. The excitement, increased audiences and revenue point to a bright future for the Chesapeake Film Festival and its programming. The growth of the festival greatly contributes to the Midshore cultural scene and its tourism/economic development.”

On the final night of the festival, an awards ceremony was held at the Avalon Theatre where thirteen films received awards for their accomplishments. The awards given were:

Best Environmental Feature

Saving Sea Turtles: Preventing Extinction
Jennifer Ting, Michele Gomes and Cheryl Ottenritter

Best Environmental Short

Current Revolution
Roger Sorkin

Best Environmental Short Animation

The Elephant’s Song
Lynn Tomlinson and Sam Saper

Best Animated Short

Lei, Lei

Best Editing

The Executioner’s Shadow
Maggie Stogner and Rick Stacks

Best Documentary Feature

Moving Stories
Cornelia Ravenal and Mikael Södensten

Best Narrative Short

Ted Adams, III

Best Sound Design

The Elephant’s Song
Lynn Tomlinson and Sam Saper

Best Narrative Feature Film

I, Matter
Llysa Rie and Shayne Pax

Best Emerging Filmmaker

Shayla Racquel

Best Actress

I, Matter
Llys Rie Ieska

Best Actor

Hold My Horse
Timothy Troy

Best Director

I, Matter
Shayne Pax and Llysa Rie Ieska

See photos from the 2018 Chesapeake Film Festival.