Sept. 30 – Oct. 9,


Image Credits:
Photograph Subject: CFF Programming Coordinator, Monda Raquel Webb
Photographer: CFF Board President, Martin Zell
Stylist: CFF Festival Director, Cid Collins Walker
Original Concept: CFF Executive Director, Nancy Tabor
Painting: CFF Festival Director, Cid Collins Walker
Design: CFF Board Member, Julie Patterson



2022 Chesapeake Film Festival 15th Annual AWARDS Include:


  • Best Environmental Short
    Into the Dark
    Directed by Michael O. Snyder
  • Best Environmental Feature
    Trashy: A Zero Waste Film
    Directed by Heather Gustafson
  • Best Documentary Short
    The Long Shore
    Directed by Tyler Ford
  • Best Documentary Feature
    Directed by Chery Jacobs Crim
  • ((tied with))
  • Best Documentary Feature
    The Other Boys of Summer
    Directed by Lauren Meyer
  • Best Narrative Short
    Directed by Cedric Hill
  • Best Narrative Feature
    Directed by David and Franscisco Salazar
  • Best Animated Film
    Yellowstone 88 – Song of Fire
    Directed by Jerry van de Beek and Betsy De Fries
  • Best Student Short
    Stop Pebble Mine
    Directed by Mason Mirabile
  • Best Director
    Harold Jackson, III
    Last Night
  • Jury’s Prize
    The Automat
    Directed by Lisa Hurwi

List of Awardees CFF 2021

  • Best Animated Film: Dumpling Dash – Directed by Lisa Cui
  • Best Comedy: The Yawndemic – Directed by Jean Pierre
  • Best Documentary Feature: Sky So Blue, Directed by Michael J. Finnegan, David L. Trapasso Jr.
  • Best Drama: Mickey Hardaway – Directed by Marcellus Cox
  • Best Cinematography: Chicago: America’s Hidden War – Directed by Daylight Supreme
  • Best Emerging Filmmaker: James Sampsel – If I Tell Them
  • Best Environmental Feature: Laws of the Lizard – Directed by Neil Losin, Nathan Dappen
  • Best Environmental Short: Hidden Wild – Directed by Neil Losin, Nathan Dappen
  • Best International Film: The Wound – Directed by Sahar Nourmonavar
  • Best Made In Maryland Film: Our Story: Lifetime Wells – Directed by Rob Simmons
  • Best Performance – Actor: Theo Adams IV, Tyndall Typewriters
  • Best Short Film: Pooch Sitter – Directed by Monda Raquel Webb
  • Best Sound Editing: Heroes’ Honeymoon – Directed by Rich West
  • Best Screenplay: Harold Jackson, III, Liam White
  • Best Editing: The Heat is On – Directed by Kelley Ashford and Irene Magafan
  • Best Director: The Tower Road Bus – Directed by Michael Streissguth
  • Best Thriller: Sleep Tight – Directed by Michael Seabolt
  • Jury’s Prize: RUMBLE: The Indians who Rocked the World – Directed by Catherine Bainbridge, Alfonso Maiorana

List of Awardees CFF 2020

  • Best Animated Film – Les Animaux Domestiques, Willow
  • Best Comedy – A Piece of Cake
  • Best Director – Stephan Schwartz – About Us
  • Best Documentary Feature – You Don’t Know Nothin’ Bout Groove City
  • Best Drama – Unarmed Man
  • Best Editing – Fort Bliss
  • Best Emerging Filmmaker – Mason Mirabile – Never Too Small and Micaa Thomas, Our House is On Fire
  • Best Environmental Feature – Unbreathable: The Fight for Healthy Air
  • Best Environmental Short – Seeds of Hope
  • Best International Film – Imaginarius
  • Best Made in Maryland Film – Squeegee
  • Best Performance – Actor – Both Aaron Williamson, case investigator by Shaun Woodland and Greg Yelich, Police Officer by Danny Gavigan in Unarmed Man
  • Best Short Film – Wake Up
  • Best Sound Editing – Balloon Man
  • Jury’s Prize – Emanuel

List of Awardees CFF 2019

  • Best Environmental Feature – Sharkwater Extinction
  • Best Environmental Short – Nassawango Legacy
  • Best Documentary Feature – The Pollinators
  • Best Short Film – Appy Days
  • Best Biographical Feature Film – The Spy Behind Home Plate
  • Best Animated Film – Late Afternoon
  • Best Emerging Filmmaker – Joshua Ziggy Popkin – “Bishop”
  • Best Emerging Performance – Actor – Herman J. Johansen – The Land
  • Best Emerging Director – Light from Light – Paul Harrill
  • Best Editing – Sea of Shadows
  • Best Sound Editing – The Bonobo Connection
  • Jury’s Prize – The Cold Blue

List of Awardees CFF 2018

  • Best Environmental Feature – Saving Sea Turtles: Preventing Extinction
  • Best Environmental Short Animation – Lynne Tomlinson – The Elephant’s Song
  • Best Environmental Short – Current Revolution
  • Best Documentary Feature – Moving Stories
  • Best Narrative Short – Othello-San
  • Best Sound Design – The Elephant’s Song
  • Best Narrative Feature – I, Matter – Llysa Rie & Shayne Pax
  • Best Animated Short – Shadow – Lei Lei
  • Best Emerging Filmmaker – Shayla Racquel – Riverment
  • Best Editing – In the Executioner’s Shadow: A Story of Justice, Injustice and the Death Penalty
  • Best Actress – Llysa Rie – I, Matter
  • Best Actor – Timothy Troy – Hold My Horse
  • Best Director – Llysa Rie & Shayne Pax – I, Matter